Third title for Kiltale U16 hurlers

May 25, 2010


Kiltale secured their third U16A Championship in a row when they defeated Trim in Kilmessan last Saturday.

Kiltale captain Cillian O'Sullivan raises the Meath U16 Championship Cup surrounded by his team mates at Kilmessan.

Kiltale captain Cillian O'Sullivan raises the Meath U16 Championship Cup surrounded by his team mates at Kilmessan.

Kiltale started the brighter with points from Cillian O Sullivan (2pts), Michael Burke 1pt, Jack Regan 1pt.

Trim had scores from Gareth White 1pt from David Fox with another point.

Kiltale got two great goals one from Chris O’ Malley who followed that up with a great long range point and another great goal from corner forward Fergal Mc Cabe.

Trim got a goal in reply from Aoran Winters.

Kiltale with Jack Regan, Kevin Ryan, Chris Reilly in defence and Eamon Ryan and Cillian O’Sullivan at midfield did enough to shade the first half exchanges.

Kiltale had a half time lead of 4pts on a scoreline of Kiltale 2 goals 5points to Trim 1goal 4pts.

Trim started brighter in the second half with a point from a 65 from David Fox.

After that score it was all Kiltale with goals from Rory Hennessy and Fergal Mc Cabe and a great solo effort by the outstanding Cillian O’ Sullivan who soloed in from midfield to leave Paul Melia with no chance in the Trim goal.

Kiltale finished off with points from Eamon Walsh 1pt, David Schilder 1pt and Cillian O’ Sullivan with a further four points.

Trim replied with a goal from Shane Lenihan.

The score of the game came from a Jack Regan free from his own half back line which he pointed.

Kiltale had good displays from Conor Shiren, Sean Mc Nally, Chris Reilly and Jack Regan in defence.

Kiltale and Trim had two great goalies Paul Melia Trim and Daragh Walsh Kiltale who both did very well and made numerous great saves.

Cillian O’ Sullivan and Eamon Ryan got on top at midfield were David Fox did well for Trim.

Kiltale had great displays from Chris O’ Malley, Fergal Mc Cabe, Rory Hennessy and Eamon Walsh in the forwards.

Ater the game the Michael Leonard Cup’ was presented to Kiltale captain Cillian O’ Sullivan by Ken McKenna.

Kiltale: Daragh Walsh, Kevin Ryan, Jack Regan, David Schilder, Sean Mc Nally, Chris Reilly, Conor Shiren, Cillian O’ Sullivan, Eamon Ryan, Rory Hennessy, Michael Burke, Eamon Walsh, Eric Ryan, Chris O’ Malley, Fergal Mc Cabe.
Subs: Conor Egan for Michael Burke, Mark Foy for Eric Ryan, Jack Molloy for Eamon Walsh.