Leinster club IHC: Oylegate Glenbrien stun Kiltale

November 12, 2012

Nothing easy in the Leinster Club IHC. Kiltale’s James Kelly (obscured) is outnumbered by Olygate Glenbrien’s Eoin O’Mahoney (14) and Peardar O’Mahoney.

AIB Leinster IHC semi-final:
Kiltale 2-13, Oylegate-Glenbrien 3-12

Wexford Intermediate champions Olyegate Glenbrien staged a remarkable second half recovery to defeat Meath Senior Hurling champions Kiltale in the Leinster Club IHC semi final at Pairc Tailteann.

After fifteen minutes Kiltale led by 1-5 to 0-2, their goal coming from veteran Johnny Donoghue. Jack Regan crashed a close in free to the Olygate net and further points from Regan (2) and Mark O’Sullivan had the Meath champions in cruise control leading 2-8 to 0-2 after 25 minutes. The Wexford champions staged a mini revival scoring three points in the last five minutes all from the hurl of midfielder Fergal Doran. Kiltale led at the interval 2-8 to 0-5.

It was a different Oylgate Glenbrien team that took to the heavy sod at Navan for the second half. Within ten minutes the Wexford men had the gap down to a point with two goals and a point from the excellent Jamie Reck. Kiltale replied with a brace of points from Jack Regan. On the 20th minute half back Anthony Forde raced through the Glenbrien defence to score an inspirational point and the Meath men were 2-12 to 2-9 in front.

But from there on Olygate took over. The outstanding Padraig Doran levelled the game with a goal and points from the Dorans, Fergal and Padraig had the Wexford men two points to the good. Jack Regan and MJ Reck exchanged points before the final whistle as Olygate Glenbrien went on the win by two and advance to the Leinster decider.

Oylegate Glenbrien: Michael Shiggins, Adrian Nolan, Fergus Heffernan, Robert O’Connor, Daithi O’Mahoney, Michael Heffernan, Peadar O’Mahoney, Fergal Doran (0-8), Jamie Reck (2-1), John Foley, Peter Nolan, MJ Reck (0-1), Padraic O’Connor, Eoin O’Mahoney, Padraig Doran (1-2).
Subs: John McCormack

Kiltale: Shane McGann, Anthony Donnelly, Padraig Donoghue, Ciaran Ennis, Anthony Forde (0-1), Willie Mahady, David Donoghue, James Kelly, Philip Garvey, Johnny Donoghue (1-0), Stephen Donoghue, Mark O’Sullivan (0-2), Cathal McCabe, Peter Durnin (0-2), Jack Regan (1-8).
Subs: Kevin Ryan

Referee Padraig Murphy Carlow.