MHC: Win over Kildalkey gives Kiltale minors the double

December 4, 2012

Meath MHC final:
Kiltale 2-10, Kildalkey 1-6

Kiltale added the minor hurling championship title to the league crown won earlier in the year. To complete a remarkable year for the club Kiltale can add this title to their senior and junior hurling championships.

Kiltale lined out without Cillian O’ Sullivan (in Australia) and the injured Eamon Walsh, Mark Foy and Daragh Brannigan. PJ Walsh’s charges were full value for their win and were in control of the game from start to finish. The winners started the game with five lads of 15 years of age Ronan Ryan in goals and two corner backs Iarla Hughes and Jack Quinn and two forwards Ross Ryan and Cathal Brien.

With Sean McNally and Eamon Ryan dominating midfield and Conor Shiren turning in a man of the match performance Kiltale led at the break 2-4 to 0-4. The winners started brightly with senior hurler Jack Regan putting over two early frees. Kildalkey tied up the match after 15 minutes with points from Conor Kewarney and Mark Healy. Kiltale’s dominance was rewarded with a great goal after a great move finished to the net by 15 year old Ross Ryan and quickly followed by a great point from Michael Burke after a great pass by Rory Hennessy. Before the break Ferghal Mc Cabe released Kevin Ryan with a great pass and he split the defence only to be taken down and Jack Regan hammered the resulting free to the Kildalkey net. Healy Kildalkey in the game with a point as Kiltale went in at the break seven points to the good.

Jack Regan opened the scoring in the second half with a 60metre free and this was quickly followed up by a great point from Conor Shiren after great work by Sean Mc Nally. Kildalkey enjoyed their best period in the game and tagged on a brace of points from Conor Kearney but Kiltale replied with points from Ferghal Mc Cabe and young Ross Ryan to give them a comfortable 2-9 to 0-6 lead after 25 minutes. Kildalkey’s best player Conor Kearney netted a penalty but time ran out for ‘The Village’ and Kiltale eased to victory. Jack Regan pointed a massive long range free to finish out the game.

Iarla Hughes gave an outstanding display at corner back and along with Jack Regan on the full back line and the solid half back line of David Schilders Chris Reilly and Shirren scores were very hard to come by for a gallant Kildalkey team. Forwards Kevin Ryan along with Ferghal Mc Cabe and Rory Hennessy were a constant threat to a very staunch Kildalkey defence. Best for Kildalkey were Adan Shelly in goals, Luke Rickard at full back, team captain David Conneely, Conor Kearney and Mark Healy.

Eamon Ryan played a captains role for his team and he gladly received the Donnelly cup to complete Kiltales fourth minor hurling title since 2005.

Kiltale: Ronan Ryan, Iarla Hughes, Jack Regan (1-6), Jack Quinn, Sean McNally, Chris Reilly, David Schilders, Eamonn Ryan, Fergal McCabe (0-1), Kevin Ryan, Rory Hennessy, Cathal Brien, Ross Ryan (1-0), Michael Burke (0-1), Conor Shiren (0-1). Subs: Sean Ryan and Chris O’Malley

Kildalkey: Adam Shelly, Sean Kirke, Luke Rickard, Tiarnan Bird, Martin O’Leary, David Conneely, Martin Healy, Conor Kearney (1-3), Kevin McKeown, Shane Moore, Mark Healy (0-3), Mark Chesser, John Murray, Ben Rickard, Patrick Potterton.

Referee: Richard Morris